Indian Constitution Preamble

India before becoming a democratic country was divided into major units, called ‘provinces’.  And the leaders were called ‘premiers’. After 26 January 1950 when the constitution was fully inaugurated and enacted in the country, names changed to ‘States’ and the leaders were called ‘Chief Ministers’. 

Indian Constitution is the only live democratic document that is created by the people, of the people, and for the people to unite the citizens. The articles, sections mentioned in our constitution touches upon many aspects of citizen’s life on a daily basis. As a touchstone for the public, the constitution is employed daily, if not hourly, by citizens in pursuit of their personal interests or in their desire to serve the public good.       

Preamble: citizens of Sovereign, Socialist, Secular democratic country follows these four basic doctrines to abide by the constitutional provisions:

  • Social, economic and political justice;
  • Freedom/liberty in idea, voicing opinions, faith, and devotion;
  • Equal status and opportunity to everyone;
  • And to promote among them all fraternity assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the Nation.

These basic four principles justice, liberty, equality, and fraternity gives equality before the law to all citizen. It explains all rights reserved for every citizen to live with full dignity and respect. Now, let’s understand the complete meaning of our preamble:

  1. Sovereign: It signifies that India is a sovereign state which means a completely independent authority. This means that the Indian sovereign country is not under the control of any external power. The Indian Parliament can enact laws with certain restrictions to govern the country. Governance word is frequently used in the country to administer which signifies that governance means what citizens do to govern themselves. Governance is democracy is the process whereas government is the object which plays the functionary roles.  
  2. Socialist: It means India believes in a mixed economy where both individuals and government sectors co-exist. It was introduced in 1976 through the 42nd amendment to achieve socialist values through democratic means. 
  3. Secular: It was also introduced in 1976 through the 42nd amendment. The aim of secularism was to empower every citizen to exercise all religious access with equal respect, protection, and support from the state through the practice of fundamental rights and fundamental duties.  
  4. Democratic: India is a democratic country where supreme power lies with the people of the country to choose the government through free and fair elections. The features of Indian democracy are that the government representatives are held accountable for good governance, universal adult franchise, one vote one value, and having an independent judiciary and regulatory bodies. 
  5. Republic: The term ‘Republic’ denotes that the head of the state is dominated by the people directly or indirectly. The President is the head of the state who is elected directly by the people’s representative both from the union and states.

Citizen Take:

It is the first introductory chapter of all Indian laws. It sets fundamental values and guiding principles to Indian residents (citizen) and Non-resident Indians towards safeguarding this great nation. Let’s follow the gateway of our constitution by following preamble doctrines.