India and New Zealand, the top two test teams in the world, will face off in today’s clash at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton at 3:30 pm.

The teams have had contrasting paths to the final. New Zealand, on one hand, has crushed visiting teams at home and sailed through with barely a scratch. Whereas, India was battered and bruised before making a comeback at the Gabba. Later on, they defeated England 3-1 at home to finish at the top of the points table.

Both the teams have announced their 15-members squads on Tuesday. Ajaz Patel has come in for Mitchell Santner. Will Young and Matt Henry’s Impressive performances in the second Test against England have earned them a spot in the squad.

Mayank Agarwal has been left out from the Indian squad, this means Shubman Gill is all set to open the innings in the WTC final along with Rohit Sharma. 

Predicted XIs

New Zealand

The in-form Devon Conway should open with the Vice-captain Tom Latham in the WTC final. Skipper Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, and Henry Nicholls should take their usual places in the top and middle order. BJ Watling will keep the gloves in the final test match of his international career. Kyle Jamieson most probably will bat at number 7 for New Zealand in Southampton.


Indian batsmen in the past have struggled against the left-arm spin. So, Ajaz Patel is likely to play in the WTC final ahead of Colin de Grandhomme. Despite an impressive performance by Matt Henry in the 2nd Test against England in Edgbaston, New Zealand are likely to go with the pace trio of Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, and  Tim Southee along with Bowling Allrounder Kyle Jamieson.

Probable XI: Devon Conway,Tom Latham(VC),Kane Williamson(Captain),Ross Taylor,Henry Nicholls,BJ Watling(WK),Kyle Jamieson,Tim Southee,Ajaz Patel,Neil Wagner,Trent Boult.


Most probably Shubman Gill will open the innings for India in WTC final along with Rohit Sharma.Cheteshwar Pujara is ready to be India’s wall once again at number 3.Captain Virat Kohli and his deputy Ajinkya Rahane looks confident and ready for WTC final,will bat at number 4 and 5 respectively.Rishabh Pant,the x-factor player of India is ready to impress again with his bat,will keep gloves for India.

Southampton is boiling hot so spin duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin should definitely be there in the Playing XI of India.Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami will be a must in the playing XI. The choice of the third seamer is between Mohammad Siraj and Ishant Sharma.Ishant will eventually make in the playing XI given his experience and previous match winning performances abroad.

Probable XI: Shubman Gill,Rohit Sharma,Cheteshwar Pujara,Virat Kohli(Captain),Ajinkya Rahane(VC),Rishabh Pant(WK),Ravindra Jadeja,Ravichandran Ashwin,Mohammad Shami,Ishant Sharma,Jasprit Bumrah.

Match details

Date: June 18-22,2021(Friday-Tuesday)

Time: 11:00 AM(Local),03:30 PM(IST),10:00 PM(NZ) and 10:00 AM(GMT).

Venue: The Rose Bowl,Southampton.


New Zealand had arrived in England earlier than India and had played two Test matches against England. They have been successful in defeating the hosts.